Tags

, , , , , ,

It was a rainy, chilly morning and I had an hour before my next class. Coffee time!

As I opened the door of the University of Alabama student center and shook out my umbrella, I spotted something across the lobby.

Oh no, I thought.

Instead of walking through the lobby to Starbucks like I had planned, I walked back out the door, into the rain, around the building, and in through the side Starbucks door.

What was it that made me so uncomfortable that I would pick a rainy detour over walking by it in the dry, warm lobby?

The PETA table.

You know – the displays full of graphic images of animal cruelty. The blood, the guts, and those sad, sad eyes.

Of course I didn’t want to see that. It’s gross and upsetting.

But on a deeper level, I didn’t want to see it because I knew profoundly that if I did, I would want to change.

And I didn’t want to deal with change.

Change seemed hard. Change seemed disruptive. Change sucked.

Or did it?

It was a few years later, but once I decided that I really could no longer ignore what I felt deep inside – that I wanted to live my values and not support animal cruelty (while improving the environment and my own health, too! What great side effects!) – I went for it. I went vegan! And guess what?

Turns out change isn’t so hard after all.

It was deciding to change that was so daunting, and when I got over that, it was actually very exciting. I realized that change is inspiring. Change is liberating. Change is a great thing.

We’re all scared of change. It means extra work up front and facing the unfamiliar.

But once you jump in, you realize how exhilarating it can be, especially when it’s for the good of something bigger than yourself.

And the best part about change? You can start right now!

Anne Frank said it beautifully:

“How wonderful it is that nobody need wait a single moment before starting to improve the world.”

So don’t wait! Decide right now to make a change for the better.

How can you improve the lives of animals, your health, and the environment? Can you do without cheese on your pasta tonight? Can you order the vegetarian burrito instead of the chicken one? Can you commit to Meatless Mondays? Or could you go vegan? (It’s easier than you might think!)

Maybe the change you choose to focus on has nothing to do with vegan choices. Just opening yourself up to change can lead to wonderful places and experiences…. try it and see where it leads you.

To not waiting a single moment!

Sarah

P.S. Share a change you want to make in the comments below. I’d love to hear about it!