Tags

, , , , , , , ,

This is the question that got me started on the path to What I Vegan.

As I came back from my lunch break one day, a co-worker asked me “How was your celery for lunch? Is that all you can eat?” – jokingly (but kinda not).

"Poor vegans. All they can eat is celery." NOT!

“Poor vegans. All they can eat is celery.” NOT!

Right then and there, I decided to start taking pictures of all the food I eat as a vegan.

I realized that most people have no idea what vegans eat or how delicious and wonderful eating this way can be!

Often, we think of vegan food as tiny portions of raw leafy vegetables (and don’t get me wrong, I love raw veggies!), but vegan food is so much more than that.

It can be hearty, filling, tasty, delicious, rich, decadent, indulgent, healthy, subtle, savory, sweet, spicy, tangy, succulent, complex, intense, comforting, sophisticated, etc., etc.

You get the idea.

vegan oatmeal

Oatmeal is vegan!

“Vegan food” can be everything “regular food” is – because it’s not something strange or special. I bet most people already eat “vegan food” and don’t even realize it!

Oatmeal, pasta with marinara, fruit, even peanut butter and jelly sandwiches are vegan!

That night in the late summer of 2011 when I got home from work, I created a Facebook album on my personal page called “What I Eat.”

You can view that original Facebook album yourself here (you don’t need a Facebook account to view it): Original “What I Eat” Album

To get started, I went through some pictures of food I had randomly taken before and uploaded them, and nearly everyday, I added more….

Before I knew it, my friends were commenting, liking, asking for recipes, and when I’d see them in person, they’d comment on how well I eat!

Some of them even said, “If I ate like you, I could be vegan!”

Well, as you know, I don’t have magic vegan powers.

I’m not a chef, a nutritionist, a food photographer, or a health nut. I’m a regular gal who wanted to go vegan to reduce animal suffering as much as I could, so I did.

And if I can do it, you can do it too!

You know the rest of the story from my very first post…many of my friends and family who loved the “What I Eat” photos encouraged me to start this blog.

I continue to post photos of what I eat…just in a different album on my “What I Vegan” Facebook page. Check it out here: “What I Eat” Album

Here are just a few photos as an appetizer…

what i eat, what i vegan

Vegan com chien at CO Vietnamese restaurant in Charleston

what i vegan, what i eat, what vegans eat

Tofurky Sandwich for lunch

vegan food

Key Lime Parfait at Plant in Asheville

what vegans eat

Southwest Veggie Chili

vegan salad

Everything in the Fridge Salad

Beans & Greens with Buffalo Tofu

Beans & Greens with Buffalo Tofu

Pulled Squash Sandwich from Butcher & Bee in Charleston

Pulled Squash Sandwich from Butcher & Bee in Charleston

vegan sushi

Home-made veggie sushi by my friend Michele

vegan crab cakes

Vegan crab cakes from Kris Carr’s Crazy Sexy Kitchen cookbook

Click through the original and newer photo albums, and I promise you’ll get hungry!

Plus you’ll get lots of ideas for compassionate, healthy, earth-friendly, and delicious breakfasts, lunches, and dinners!

You can totally eat this way if you just decide to do it. No magic vegan powers needed.

To Wayyyyyy More Than Celery!

Sarah

