Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

As you know from last week’s post (Vegan Food in Paradise), my husband’s whole family and I were in Islamorada, Florida for a very special wedding.

Congratulations, Hugh and Krista!!!

Wedding Day sunset

We had an amazing time – and amazing food –ย  thanks to the very thoughtful bride and groom.

Let’s get right to it…here’s what I ate!

The first day there, I ordered a salad from the poolside bar. It was colorful, fresh, and had a tangy, tasty balsamic vinaigrette.

The first day there, I ordered a salad from the poolside bar of Casa Morada. It was colorful, fresh, and had a tangy, tasty balsamic vinaigrette.

I also had the hummus from Casa Morada's bar. It was citrusy and creamy.

I also had the hummus from Casa Morada’s bar. It was citrusy and creamy.

We went to a place called Spanish Gardens for dinner, and they had the best sangria! I also had:

The green beans, Mediterranean salad (not pictured), and more than my fair share of bread dipped in olive oil and garlic. :)

The green beans, Mediterranean salad (not pictured), and more than my fair share of bread dipped in olive oil and garlic. ๐Ÿ™‚

Fingerling potatoes with wild mushrooms and peppers in olive oil. SO flavorful!

Fingerling potatoes with wild mushrooms and peppers in olive oil. SO flavorful!

The rehearsal dinner was held at Chef Michael’s, which had excellent service and even more excellent food! In fact, our server told us Chef Michael has a child who’s vegan, so he knows what’s up!

I indulged in a super delicious meal:

Asparagus and mushroom soup

Asparagus and mushroom soup

The uber-delicious Eggplant Napoleon with asparagus, roasted tomato, garlic, and spinach in a yummy phyllo dough crust.

The uber-yummy Eggplant Napoleon with asparagus, roasted tomato, garlic, and spinach in a yummy phyllo dough crust.

You know you’re addicted to green smoothies when you travel with a Vitamix blender.

Here’s my green smoothie in paradise:

Veggie goodness in a cup.

Veggie goodness in a cup.

Another treat from Casa Morada‘s poolside bar was the make-your-own pizza!

I got a large sans cheese, with mushrooms, olives, and onions.

I got a large pizza sans cheese, with mushrooms, olives, and onions.

Then it was time for the wedding! The bride and groom had a hugely vegan-friendly menu.

I piled up my plate with veggie-filled orzo, cappelini pomodoro pasta, a red pepper and mushroom crostini, and a ciabatta roll.

I piled up my plate with veggie-filled orzo, cappelini pomodoro pasta, a red pepper and mushroom crostini, and a ciabatta roll.

OK, are you ready for the best of all? VEGAN VANILLA RUM CUPCAKES!

These were melt-in-your-mouth, crazy good cupcakes. And the bride and groom even had a gluten free version for my niece who can't eat gluten. Did they think of everything or what!

These were melt-in-your-mouth, crazy good cupcakes. And the bride and groom even had a gluten free version for my niece who can’t eat gluten. Did they think of everything or what!

After dancing the night away at the gorgeous reception, we munched on a special goodie bag the bride and groom had for us: vegan peanut butter cups!

Om nom nom

Om nom nom. And check out the adorable bag!

The next day, it was time to hit the road. We stopped at a Chinese restaurant in Key Largo for lunch to fuel up for the trip ahead.

Veggie roll, tofu with mixed veggies, and a vegetarian spring roll...think we were hungry?

Veggie roll, tofu with mixed veggies, and a vegetarian spring roll…think we were hungry?

And what says “welcome home” like some vegan mac ‘n’ cheese and sauteed Brussels sprouts?

"Welcome home!"

“Welcome home!”

Back to reality now!

But I’ll be dreaming of Islamorada, its gorgeous waters and palm trees, and its vegan food well into the future!

To Love and Vegan Cupcakes!

Sarah

