Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

As y’all know from my post(s) about the restaurant Plant, I love Asheville, NC. They have a cool downtown scene, a gorgeous mountain back-drop, and many a veg-friendly restaurant to choose from (Plant, VegHeads, and The Laughing Seed among them).

Plus, I have family there (hi, Grammy and Zaydie!) and it’s an hour from my hometown, so I have plenty of reasons to constantly visit (and chow down)!

Rosetta’s Kitchen, a whole-foods kitchen and cafe on North Lexington Ave., is one of the many veg options in Asheville, and I’ve delighted in its food on several occasions.

Its eclectic menu (ranging from Asian to Mexican to deep South-inspired) and laid-back vibe make going there a culinary and cultural adventure.

They say on their website that: “We are frequented by a constant flow of creative souls of a wide spectrum, foodies, health nuts, vegans, vegetarians, and curious tourists.”

No matter what category you might fall into (or not – who cares about stereotypes anyway?!), you’ll be drooling in a minute when you see my pics.

So, what did I vegan there?

Let’s start off with our appetizer, the Nacho Platter:

Tortilla chips layered with Rosetta’s Kitchen’s amazing vegan queso and house-made pico de gallo. It had the perfect amount of kick and really whet our appetite for more!

For my main dish, I ordered the small vegan “Pad Thai Kitchen Style” (can we say ‘saving room for dessert?!’):

Rice noodles sautéed with organic carrots, daikon, cabbage, garlic and broccoli in a sweet & spicy peanut-apricot sauce, topped with fresh cilantro and sprouts.

Hanes ordered the veggie burger, which I believe he said, as he quickly chowed it down, was “mmm, de-rish-shus.”

The signature house-made veggie burger, served on a house-made whole wheat bun with lettuce, red onion and tomato, and Vegenaise.

We decided to share a side of smashed potatoes, even though our main dishes and appetizer were plenty filling, because vegan mashed taters are rarely seen on menus…how could we pass up such amazing comfort food? We added Granny’s Gravy (made with cheesy, nutty nutritional yeast – yum!) on top for a real Southern treat:

Homestyle and hearty smashed potatoes smothered in Granny’s Gravy.

Last but certainly not least, dessert! They have an array of vegan cakes, pies, and cookies to choose from on any given day, so always make sure to save room for sweets!

From right to left: Chocolate almond cheesecake, peanut butter and chocolate cake, and chocolate/peanut butter cheesecake. Can you blame us?!

So, are you ready to pack your bags for Asheville? It’s the perfect time of year to go with the fall colors, crisp air, and a million vegan delectables! And no, I don’t work for the Asheville CVB. But I am a fan of amazing vegan food…

To Rosetta!

Sarah

P.S. Have you liked my “What I Vegan” Facebook page? I’m adding more pics of What I Eat all the time…

